Skip to main content

Patsy Albers Award Fund

The Patsy Albers Award was established in 2013 in Patsy's memory by Janine Malone and Patsy's friends, family, colleagues, and admirers. In 2023, the Patsy Albers Award was expanded. Now, one $2,500 Award will be presented annually to the highest-placing dressage rider (Grand Prix or Intermediaire I) at the USEF Festival of Champions and Dressage at Devon. Qualified riders must have previously competed for the U.S. at a North American Youth Championship. Preference will be given to those competing at Grand Prix and the Award will provide financial support for the recipient's continuing education and training.

Patsy Albers, one of the nation's best-known figures at dressage shows across the country, passed away in October 2012. She was a longtime supporter and Chef d'Equipe of the North American Youth Championship Region 1 team. She was also very involved at the prestigious Dressage at Devon, where she served for many years as the FEI Event Director. Her expertise also extended into management, officiating, and volunteering, for which she was honored multiple times. “Patsy was a Region 1 delegate for as long as I can remember,” said Janine Malone, a close friend of Patsy’s who established the Award at The Dressage Foundation. “I knew she would want to support riders who had come up through the ranks, competing at the North American Youth Championship and going on to the Festival of Champions.”

Past Recipients:

U.S Dressage Festival of Champions
2013: Kathleen Raine and Breanna
2014: Adrienne Lyle and Wizard
2015: Heather Oleson and Victor
2017: Adrenne Lyle and Salvino
2018: Jennifer Williams and Millione
2019: Nick Wagman and Don John
2020: Jennifer Williams and Millione
2021: Katie Johnson and Quartett
2022: Katie Duerrhammer and Paxton 
2023: Codi Harrison and Katholt’s Bossco

Dressage at Devon
2023: Ben Ebeling and Indeed

HITS Del Mar National Show
2024: Anna Buffini and Fiontini